Protected Deposit Products

     Protected deposit products are deposit accounts that are opened at member financial institutions under the Deposit Protection Agency Act. They must be denominated in Thai baht and must be opened within the country. Currently, there are 5 types of protected deposits:

  • Current deposit accounts
  • Savings deposit accounts
  • Fixed deposit accounts
  • Certificates of deposit
  • Deposit receipts

     Financial products or certain deposit products that are not protected include:

  • Foreign currency deposit accounts
  • (SSF, RMF) Money invested in bonds, debentures, mutual and tax-saving funds (SSF and RMF)
  • Deposits in cooperatives
  • Cashier’s cheques and bills of exchange
  • Electronic money (e-money)
  • Savings insurance products offered by insurance companies